24/7 Support number 1 - 888-330-7377

Foreign Travel Entry Requirements

Documents Needed for Travel

A valid passport is the most common travel document required for entry into a foreign country. More than 80% of all countries in the world require this document. Even if it is not required for entrance into a foreign country, it is required to re-enter the United States in most cases.

Citizens of the United States who travel to a country where a valid U.S. passport is not required will need documentary evidence of U.S. citizenship and valid proof of identity. Proof of U.S. citizenship includes an expired U.S. passport, a certified (original) birth certificate, a Certificate of Naturalization, a Certificate of Citizenship, or a Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States. Identity can be proven by a valid driver’s license or government identification card. However, for travel overseas and to facilitate reentry into the U.S., a valid U.S. passport is the best documentation available and unquestionably proves your U.S. citizenship.

Some countries require that your U.S. passport be valid for at least 6 months or longer beyond the dates of your trip. Other countries require only 3 months of validity. If your passport expires before the required validity, you need to renew it before you travel.

United States Passport Card

The United States passport card is a credit card-sized identification document. It was designed for people who travel frequently between the U.S. and Canada, Mexico, Bermuda, or the Caribbean by land or sea. The passport card contains a radio frequency identification chip as well as the traditional photograph and personal information found in a passport book. The chip links your passport card to records stored in government databases. It does not contain any of your personal information.  Learn More…..

Government-Issued ID Cards

You do not need a passport to travel within the United States, however, you need a valid U.S. government-issued photo ID card, such as your driver’s license when traveling, and especially when you’re going through security. You must show that the name on your boarding pass matches the legal name on your government-issued ID.

Passports are not required for travel to Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands.

Beginning May 7, 2025, every air traveler 18 years of age and older will need a REAL ID-compliant driver’s license, state-issued enhanced driver’s license, or another acceptable form of ID to fly within the United States.

U.S. Passport Book

Let us help you get your passport today.

Call 1-888-330-7377 for immediate assistance.

Dedicated to helping you see the world.

Do I Need a VISA to Enter a Foreign Country?

Yes, visas are required in some countries, but Americans can travel to at least 110 countries without a visa. This means there is no paperwork involved, and travelers can simply “show up” and enter these countries with only a passport. The following destinations are considered visa-free:

1. Albania
2. Andorra
3. Antigua and Barbuda
4. Argentina
5. Armenia
6. Austria
7. Bahamas
8. Barbados
9. Belarus
10. Belgium
11. Belize
12. Bosnia and Herzegovina
13. Botswana
14. Brunei
15. Bulgaria
16. Canada
17. Chile
18. Colombia
19. Costa Rica
20. Croatia
21. Cyprus
22. Czechia
23. Denmark
24. Dominica
25. Dominican Republic (Tourist Card on Arrival)
26. Ecuador
27. El Salvador
28. Equatorial Guinea
29. Estonia
30. Fiji
31. Finland
32. France
33. Georgia
34. Germany
35. Greece
36. Grenada
37. Guatemala

38. Guyana
39. Haiti
40. Honduras
41. Hong Kong
42. Hungary
43. Iceland
44. Indonesia (Visa on Arrival)
45. Ireland
46. Israel
47. Italy
48. Jamaica
49. Japan
50. Kazakhstan
51. Kiribati
52. Kosovo
53. Kyrgyzstan
54. Latvia
55. Lesotho
56. Liechtenstein
57. Lithuania
58. Luxembourg
59. Macao
60. Macedonia
61. Malaysia
62. Malta
63. Marshall Islands
64. Mauritius
65. Mexico
66. Micronesia
67. Moldova
68. Monaco
69. Mongolia
70. Montenegro
71. Morocco
72. Namibia
73. Netherlands
74. New Zealand

75. Nicaragua
76. Norway
77. Palau
78. Palestinian territories
79. Panama
80. Peru
81. Philippines
82. Poland
83. Portugal
84. Qatar
85. Romania
86. Saint Kitts and Nevis
87. Saint Lucia
88. San Marino
89. Sao Tome and Principe
90. Senegal
91. Serbia
92. Singapore
93. Slovakia
94. Slovenia
95. South Africa
96. South Korea
97. Spain
98. St. Vincent and the Grenadines
99. Swaziland
100. Sweden
101. Switzerland
102. Taiwan
103. Thailand
104. Trinidad and Tobago
105. Tunisia
106. Ukraine
107. United Kingdom
108. Uruguay
109. Vanuatu
110. Vatican City

What About the Other Countries?

There are 49 countries that are not actually “visa-free,” but Americans can easily obtain a visa for entering either upon arrival at the country or electronically:

1. Australia
2. Bahrain
3. Bangladesh
4. Benin
5. Bolivia
6. Burkina Faso
7. Cambodia
8. Cape Verde
9. Comoros
10. Djibouti
11. Egypt
12. Ethiopia
13. Gabon
14. The Gambia
15. Guinea-Bissau
16. India
17. Ivory Coast

18. Jordan
19. Kenya
20. Kuwait
21. Laos
22. Lebanon
23. Madagascar
24. Malawi
25. Maldives
26. Mauritania
27. Mozambique
28. Nepal
29. Oman
30. Papua New Guinea
31. Paraguay
32. Rwanda
33. Samoa
34. Seychelles

35. Solomon Islands
36. Somalia
37. Sri Lanka
38. Suriname
39. Tajikistan
40. Tanzania
41. Timor-Leste
42. Togo
43. Tonga
44. Turkey
45. Tuvalu
46. Uganda
47. United Arab Emirates
48. Zambia
49. Zimbabwe


Find out which travel vaccines you may need to help you stay healthy on your trip.

© 2023 Travel is SWELL.com